Text Embedding 3 Small turns text of up to about 8 pages into a fingerprint of its meaning, so search finds passages that mean the same thing even when the words differ. It replaces the older ada-002 and is the sensible default for search over your documents, grouping similar messages or labelling them.
Whisper 1
by OpenAIReleased 27 April 2026
Whisper as OpenAI serves it through its API, the open-source speech recogniser that transcribes and translates audio files up to 25 MB in more than 50 languages, from mp3, mp4, wav or webm
What it costs
You pay for what each request uses. No subscription, no minimum.
One minute of audio, the ordinary use
Every rate
| Meter | ↑ you send | ↓ comes back |
|---|---|---|
| Second of audio | 0,033 DA |
per second of audio sent
- When you pay
- After the answer, from your balance. Nothing is held.
- Why it varies
- The length of the audio.
- After each one
- The exact charge shows on the request.
Where your request runs
One company runs this model. OpenDunes sends every request to it.
You pay the price of the provider that served your request. Prices read 15:19 · speed over the last 30 minutes · uptime over 3 days.
Call it in code
Swap the base URL and the key. Your OpenAI code runs unchanged.
import os
from openai import OpenAI
client = OpenAI(
base_url="https://opendunes.com/v1",
api_key=os.environ["OPENDUNES_API_KEY"],
)
with open("meeting.mp3", "rb") as f:
resp = client.audio.transcriptions.create(model="openai/whisper-1", file=f)
print(resp.text)Runs this request once on your balance.
Questions about Whisper 1
How much does Whisper 1 cost in dinars?
About 2,00 DA per minute of audio. ↑ 0,033 DA per second of audio.
Is Whisper 1 free? Can I try it?
No. You pay per use from your balance, with no subscription. Try it in Chat at the same price.
What is Whisper 1 best for?
Whisper as OpenAI serves it through its API, the open-source speech recogniser that transcribes and translates audio files up to 25 MB in more than 50 languages, from mp3, mp4, wav or webm.
How do I pay for Whisper 1 without an international card?
Deposit dinars with your Edahabia or CIB card. Every model, Whisper 1 included, is paid from that balance. No foreign card, no conversion.
Does Whisper 1 work in Arabic, French or Darja?
OpenAI says Whisper supports 98 languages, with accuracy varying by language, and points to the Whisper language list, which names Arabic and French. Darja is not named.
Does it say who spoke, and when?
Speaker labels: not stated. Word timings: not stated.
How long can a file be?
Up to 25 MB as an upload. Longer audio goes in the request body.
Who makes Whisper 1, and when was it released?
OpenAI. Released 27 April 2026.
Other OpenAI models, priced in dinars
See all OpenAI modelsGPT Image 2.5 Sunburst takes a written description, with optional reference pictures, and gives back an image, new or edited, as PNG, JPEG or WebP, with transparent backgrounds on PNG and WebP. It is the precision tier of the 2.5 series, for detailed creative work where an edit has to land exactly as asked, and it adds top quality settings named xhigh and max.
GPT-6 Luna Decisions does not write text. You send content as text, a table of data or a picture, plus up to 200 named questions of three kinds: yes or no, pick among options, or grade against an ordered scale. It returns a probability for every answer, with the likeliest option or expected score, so your own system can set its thresholds for routing, moderation or marking.
Text Embedding 3 Large turns text of up to about 8 pages into a fingerprint of its meaning, so search finds passages that mean the same thing even when the words differ. It is the most accurate of OpenAI's models of this kind, in English and other languages. Choose it when the quality of matches matters most, for search, grouping or labelling documents.